Healthcare in Swansea Bay

The NHS in Wales provides primary care (family doctors, opticians, dentists, pharmacists, and other healthcare professionals). Secondary care (hospitals and ambulance services), tertiary care through specialist hospitals treating particular types of illness such as cancer, and community care provided in partnership with local social services.

Health Care in Swansea Bay is provided by two NHS Trusts: ABM University NHS Trust and the Hywel Dda NHS Trust.

ABM University NHS Trust

ABMU is the largest hospital trust in Wales, and one of the largest in the UK. The Trust was launched on 1st April, 2008, following a merger between the former award-winning Swansea and Bro Morgannwg NHS Trusts.

As the first Trust in Wales to be granted University title, ABM University NHS Trust works closely with Swansea University and its Medical School, along with other university and college partners in South Wales.

There are two divisions of the Trust: West, covering Swansea; and East, covering Neath, Port Talbot, Bridgend and the Western Vale of Glamorgan.

The Trust has four major hospitals three of which are in the Swansea Bay region: Morriston and Singleton in Swansea, and Neath Port Talbot in Baglan.

Morriston Hospital currently has 750 beds, the majority of which are housed in modern accommodation that has been built since 1981. Morriston Hospital is also the site of the major Accident and Emergency Department for Swansea and, with its accessibility to the South West Wales population, is recognised as the Major Trauma Centre for South West Wales. The hospital is currently undergoing a massive £100m-plus redevelopment with brand new buildings replacing pre-war estate. Work is expected to be complete by the end of 2015

Singleton Hospital is a modern District General Hospital with 550 beds situated on Swansea Bay, adjacent to the campus of Swansea University. Singleton also houses the sub-regional Cancer Centre and as such provides specialist Oncology services to South West Wales.

Neath Port Talbot Hospital has 270 beds and provides a range of inpatient, outpatient and day care services for the people of Neath and Port Talbot.

Hywel Dda NHS Trust

The former Carmarthenshire NHS trust was merged with Ceredigion & Mid Wales and Pembrokeshire & Derwen NHS Trusts on April 1st 2008, thereby forming the Hywel Dda NHS Trust. Delivering healthcare to a population of 372,320 people across Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire, the Trust has responsibility for four hospitals, two of which are located in the Swansea Bay region: West Wales General Hospital in Carmarthen and Prince Philip Hospital in Llanelli, both of which provide acute and emergency services.

The Trust also provides acute, community, mental health and learning disabilities services across the mid and south west Wales area; in the Swansea Bay area continuing care and rehabilitation are provided across four small hospitals at Amman Valley Hospital (Glanamman), Llandovery Hospital and Mynydd Mawr Hospital (Upper Tumble).